beyondredemption.webblogg.se

Prologue; Raavi

Kategori: The Story

 

My mother stood by the door. She was smiling at me, as only a loving mother could.
She told me she loved me, and gently shut the door. I lay awake, looking out at the stars
while the candle on my bed-table flickered in the wind. I imagined it was a star. That had fallen
down, and had landed here beside me, giving me the chance to make one hundred wishes.
All those wishes I had, one day they would come true. I believed so. My eyes were getting heavier as I lay my head down on the pillow. One last wish, just before I fall asleep. Just one more:

- I wish I could see the world...

I didn't realize that my wish, would change my life for the worse. I was dreaming that I heard a woman scream. An enormous explosion occured, right outside my window. My head was numbed by the shockwave. Did a star fall down...? A shape of a man was in front of me. He had grabbed my shoulders and shook them rapidly. I could only hear a subdued sound of a heartbeat. My sight was blurry, and as the shape was starting to get clearer, I heard a faint voice.

- R..vi. Raa... Raavi... Raavi! Fiul meu, trezește-te, trebuie să plece!
My son, wake up, you must leave!

I came to my senses and saw my father. He was bleading from his forehead and the room was full of smoke. My heartbeat rose as I did not realize what just had happened. My father pulled me up and led me out of the room. The house was on fire and I could hardly see a thing. As we were trying to get out of the house I suddenly stopped moving, and I stared into the fire. There was something lying on the floor. Covered in flames. A person... Mom. Time stopped. I saw my mother burn right in front of me. That's a thing a child should never have to see. My eyes began to hurt a lot, as when a mixture of fire, smoke and tears stung them. I felt my fathers hand grab me and pulled me out of the burning building. He lifted me up and started to run. From over his shoulder I could see soldiers invade the village, followed by a big tank. Probably the one causing the explosions. My shirt was covered with my fathers blood. He ran and ran and ran.

This was when I realized, my wish was about to come true:
I would never see my home in Sulina again.

- Tată ... Mama e mort ...
Father... Mom is dead...

 

Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här: